Fantasy Television Series : Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones

It is a medieval fantasy television series created for the U.S. channel HBO by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss. It is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire, George R. R. Martin’s series of fantasy novels, the first of which is titled A Game of Thrones. The series’ cast is mostly British and Irish. It is filmed at Paint Hall Studios in Belfast, as well as on location elsewhere in Northern Ireland, Malta, Croatia, Iceland, and Morocco.

The first season debuted in the U.S. on April 17, 2011. Further, it was picked up for a second season, which began airing on April 1, 2012. Nine days after that, it was picked up for a third season.

Highly anticipated since its early stages of development, Game of Thrones has been very well received by viewers and critics. Season 1 was nominated for or won numerous awards, including Outstanding Drama Series for the Emmy Awards and Best Television Series – Drama at the 69th Golden Globe Awards. As Tyrion Lannister, Peter Dinklage won the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series and the Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film. Season 2 has been nominated for 12 Emmy Awards.

fantasy television series

Game of Thrones Fantasy Television Series Cast

Lena Headey
Cersei Lannister (20 episodes, 2011-2013)
Peter Dinklage
Tyrion Lannister (20 episodes, 2011-2013)
Maisie Williams
Arya Stark (19 episodes, 2011-2013)
Michelle Fairley
Catelyn Stark (18 episodes, 2011-2013)
Emilia Clarke
Daenerys Targaryen (18 episodes, 2011-2013)
Alfie Allen
Theon Greyjoy (18 episodes, 2011-2013)
Iain Glen
Ser Jorah Mormont (17 episodes, 2011-2013)
Kit Harington
Jon Snow (17 episodes, 2011-2013)
Sophie Turner
Sansa Stark (17 episodes, 2011-2013)
Jack Gleeson
Joffrey Baratheon (17 episodes, 2011-2013)
Aidan Gillen
Petyr Baelish (16 episodes, 2011-2013)
Isaac Hempstead Wright
Bran Stark (16 episodes, 2011-2013)
Richard Madden
Robb Stark (14 episodes, 2011-2012)
Jerome Flynn
Bronn (14 episodes, 2011-2013)
Conleth Hill
Lord Varys (14 episodes, 2011-2013)
Donald Sumpter
Maester Luwin (14 episodes, 2011-2012)
Nikolaj Coster-Waldau
Jaime Lannister (13 episodes, 2011-2013)
Rory McCann
Sandor Clegane (13 episodes, 2011-2012)
Ron Donachie
Ser Rodrik Cassel (13 episodes, 2011-2012)
Julian Glover
Grand Maester Pycelle (13 episodes, 2011-2012)
Amrita Acharia
Irri (13 episodes, 2011-2012)
Charles Dance
Tywin Lannister (12 episodes, 2011-2013)
John Bradley
Samwell Tarly (12 episodes, 2011-2013)
Kristian Nairn
Hodor (12 episodes, 2011-2012)
Sibel Kekilli
Shae (11 episodes, 2011-2013)
Mark Stanley
Grenn (11 episodes, 2011-2012)
Roxanne McKee
Doreah (11 episodes, 2011-2012)
Sean Bean
Eddard Stark (10 episodes, 2011)
Natalia Tena
Osha (10 episodes, 2011-2012)
Esmé Bianco
Ros (10 episodes, 2011-2012)
Joe Dempsie
Gendry (10 episodes, 2011-2013)
Jason Momoa
Khal Drogo (10 episodes, 2011-2012)
Thomas Brodie-Sangster
Jojen Reed (10 episodes, 2013)
Ciarán Hinds
Mance Rayder (10 episodes, 2013)
Kristofer Hivju
Tormund Giantsbane (10 episodes, 2013)
James Cosmo
Jeor Mormont (9 episodes, 2011-2013)
Ben Hawkey
Hot Pie (9 episodes, 2011-2013)

See also  Technology : LED TV

Season Ordered Filming Premiere Novel adapted

  • Season 1 March 2, 2010 Second half of 2010 April 17, 2011 A Game of Thrones(fantasy television series)
  • Season 2 April 19, 2011 Second half of 2011 April 1, 2012 A Clash of Kings
  • Season 3 April 10, 2012 Second half of 2012 March 31, 2013 About the first half of A Storm of Swords