How Many National Parks Are There in The UK

There are 15 national parks in the UK. The most recent is south downs made a national park on the 31st of March 2010.

Some Facts About The National Parks in The UK

  • At least 331,000 people live in the National Parks of England, Scotland and Wales.
  • There are at nearly 4,000 ancient monuments in the UK National Parks.
  • The UK National Parks contain more than 350 Conservation areas which are protected areas of special architectural interest.
  • England’s National Parks cover 7% of its land area.
  • In Wales, the National Parks cover 20% of the land.
  • National Parks cover 7.3 per cent of Scotland.
  • 7,842 square miles are included in UK National Parks.
  • The largest National Park is The Cairngorms in Scotland, covering 1,467 square miles.
  • The oldest National Park, The Peak District, was founded in 1951.
  • The newest National Park is The South Downs, established in April, 2009.

UK national parks map

List of UK National Parks


  • The New Forest: Covering an area of about 220 square miles, the New Forest National Park takes in approximately 15 miles of coast between Calshot Castle (most easterly point) and Hurst Castle (most southerly point), and stretches northwards to Whiteparish and westwards to Ringwood. On the easterly side is Southampton Water, but the National Park boundary falls just short of this. Established: 2005
  • Lake District National Park885 square miles of landscape carved out by glaciers about 15,000 years ago. It has England’s highest mountain. Established: 1951
  • The Yorkshire Dales:680 square miles of dramatic hills and woodlands that straddle the Pennines in the North of England. Established: 1954
  • The Norfolk Broads: 117 square miles of wetlands, marshes and fenland in East Anglia, in the East of England. Established: 1989
  • Exmoor National Park: 267 square miles and thirty four miles of stunning coastline in South West England. Established: 1954
  • The Cairngorms National Park: 1,467 square miles of wild, dramatic peaks in central Scotland. Established: 2003
  • Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park:720 square miles of west central Scotland. Established: 2002
  • Northumberland National Park:405 square miles of virtually empty land in the North East of England. Established: 1956
  • The North York Moors:554 miles of heath and moorland, as well as 26 miles of dramatic North Sea coast in England’s North East. Established: 1952
  • The Peak District National Park:555 square miles in the heart of England. Established: 1951
  • Snowdonia National Park: 840 square miles of North Wales. Established: 1951
  • Pembrokeshire Coast National Park: Of the 240 square miles of this West Wales park. Established: 1952
  • The Brecon Beacons National Park: 519 square miles of South Central Wales. Established: 1957
  • Dartmoor National Park: 268 square miles of moorland in Devon, South West England. Established: 1951
  • The South Downs: Covering an area of 628 square miles in southern England. Established: 2009
See also  How Many Cars Are There in The UK