How Many Systems Are in The Human Body


Systems Of The Human Body

A system is a set of organs and structures that work together to fulfill some physiological function in a living being. There are 14 systems that make up the human body.

  • The Circulatory or Cardiovascular System
    (Heart, Blood Vessels (Arteries, Capillaries, Veins).)
  • The Digestive or Gastrointestinal System
    (Mouth, Esophagus, Stomach, Small intestine, Large intestine)
  • The Endocrine or Glandular or Hormonal System
    (Hypothalamus, Pituitary, Thyroid, Parathyroids, Adrenals, Pineal body, Ovaries and Testes.)
  • The Excretory System
    (Small and Large Intestines, Rectum, and Anus)
  • The Dermal or Integumentary System
    (Skin, Hair, Nails, Sweat Glands)
  • The Muscular System
    (Muscles (Smooth, Cardiac, and Skeletal Muscles.))
  • The Nervous System
    (Brain, Spinal Cord, Nerves)
  • The Reproductive System
    Male (Penis and Testes) Female ( Vagina, Uterus, Ovaries)
  • The Respiratory or Pulmonary System
    (Nose, Pharynx, Larynx, Trachea, Bronchi, Alveoli, Bronchioles Lungs.)
  • The Skeletal System
    (Bones, Bone Marrow, Joints, Teeth, Ligaments, Cartilage)

11 Human Body Systems And Their Functions

  • Circulatory system: It is the system of venous and arterial connections that carry blood to the body’s organs. It is made up of the heart, blood vessels (veins, arteries, and capillaries), and blood.
  • Digestive system: It is the system in charge of the digestion process, which is the transformation and absorption of food by the cells of the body.
  • Endocrine system: (Hormonal system) It is the system that produces hormones that are released into the blood and that regulate some of the body’s functions including mood, growth and metabolism.
  • Immune system: (Immune system) It is the system that protects against diseases by identifying and killing pathogenic and cancer cells.
  • Lymphatic system: It is the system of cylindrical ducts similar to blood vessels that carry a transparent liquid called lymph. Some functions of the lymphatic system include building and activating the immune system and collecting chyle (a fluid product of the digestion of fats from ingested food). The lymphatic system is made up of the lymphatic vessels, nodes, spleen, thymus, lymph, and lymphatic tissues (such as the tonsil and bone marrow).
  • Muscular system: It is the system that allows the skeleton to move, remain stable and shape the body
  • Nervous system: It is the system of nerve connections that allows us to transmit and have information about the environment that surrounds us.
  • Bone system: It is the structural support and protection system for internal organs through bones.
  • Reproductive system: It is the system that is related to sexual reproduction.
  • Respiratory system: It is the system in charge of capturing oxygen and eliminating carbon dioxide from cellular anabolism. The nostrils are used to carry air into the lungs where gas exchange occurs.
  • Urinary system : (excretory system) It is the system that has the function of expelling the waste that the digestive process has
See also  Work promotion: Online Classes Have Become The Latest Strategy To Obtain Certifications

There are 3 subsystems of the Circulatory or Cardiovascular System.

  • The Immune System
    (Bone Marrow, Thymus, Gland, Spleen, Lymph Nodes)
  • The Lymphatic System
    (Ducts and Lymph Nodes) [Palatine Tonsil, Thymus Gland]
  • The Urinary System
    (Kidneys, Gallbladder, Ureter, Urethra)

There is 1 sub-system of the Nervous System.

  • The Sensory System
    (Senses of sight, hearing, feeling, smelling, tasting, and balance)

But there are only 8 major organ systems in the body. They are: the skeletal, muscular, nervous, digestive, respiratory, cardiovascular, reproductive, and urinary systems.